In Which I Start a Blog for a Silly Reason

Ever since I finished the first draft of the book I’m writing, I realized something important. It will never be done if I don’t take the time to work on it. It’s an interesting concept, to say the least. It didn’t write itself, so I certainly can’t expect it to revise and finish itself. I have discovered that when I have some external way of keeping track of my progress, I work better.

Originally that was the NaNoWriMo site, where I upload my daily word count. The bonus there is that there is a big community of other people doing what I’m doing, and I get winner goodies if I reach the monthly goal. However, even after NaNoWiMo was over, I continued keeping track of my word count on a site called Final Deadline. My goal was not as strenuous as is was during NaNo, but I still progressed steadily. Then I finished the first draft, and it was time to start revising.

There is no site (that I know of) for keeping track of time spent revising. For far too long, I slacked off. I told myself constantly that I needed to keep working, but managed only a few pages at a time, on sporadic days. Then Camp NaNo started. I used that to propel myself back into my work, setting myself a goal of 1 hour of time spent revising per day. That worked wonders, as I have gotten a lot done on the novel. However, there is still oh so much left to do, and Camp NaNo ends tomorrow.

It’s sad to know that I can’t motivate myself, and I do think that the momentum I have right now will carry me a while past the end of April. However, I know I will eventually slow down…it’s just how it always goes. Frankly, almost anything else I can do with my free time is easier on the brain, so it’s more likely I’ll gravitate towards that when I know I should be revising.

I didn’t really think I’d ever start a blog. I had nothing to write about, no interesting thoughts to share, certainly no witty advice to give on any subject. Keeping myself accountable to my writing may not be the best reason to start a blog, but I need somewhere at least semi-public to be able to update my progress. And like my Final Deadline account, I may be the only person to ever have any reason to care about and visit this, but as long as it keeps me working, that’s okay.

 

One thought on “In Which I Start a Blog for a Silly Reason

  1. Keep working….keep working…you’ll burn the whole day through, keep working…keep working, please do! (Sing it to the tune of “Good Morning” from Singin’ in the Rain). 😉

    Like

Leave a Comment

