April 30

Camp NaNoWriMo ended today, and I met my goal of 30 hours editing time for the month. The folks over at NaNoWriMo asked on their Facebook page what our favorite camp memories were for this month, and this is my response:

“For me it was the point when the work I was doing became less something I had to do, and more something I wanted to do. I’m revising my 2013 November NaNo novel, and it was going very slowly before camp started. At some point about halfway through, I realized I wasn’t only working for the ‘word count,’ but because I really wanted to get the work done and someday be able to call this novel finished. I’ve made so much progress thanks to Camp NaNo!

It’s because of NaNoWriMo that I am where I am on this book. It gave me the push to write it, and has given me the push to edit. Now I’m seeing it shape into something halfways decent. While I still wouldn’t call the editing process fun, I don’t dread it as much as I used to. I’m already looking forward to July’s Camp NaNoWriMo. If this blog keeps me going like I hope, I won’t need July’s camp to push me back to working, but it can still provide a month of more intense focus.

Time worked:  1:06

Work done:  Continued working on plot for Pursuit of Power.

Leave a Comment

