NaNoWriMo Day 12

The Words: 3360 written today. And I reached 50k tonight! After a rough day of finding and cleaning cat pee all over the house (cat has a bladder infection), I wasn’t even sure I’d make it, despite how little I had to go. Fortunately, a word war got me the rest of the way there. I had also written 800 before I went to bed last night, and a little more before supper. Now, as excited about this as I am (and I am, I’m just more excited internally than externally), I know I’m not done yet. As I said earlier this month, my real goal is to finish as much of this book as I can before November comes to an end. Last year, the novel I started during NaNo came in around 105k words, so using that as a loose guide, my daily word goals continuing forth will reflect a 100k end goal. That means 3333 words per day, which I’ve already been doing most of the month. Until recently, I haven’t had to really make myself reach a daily goal; I’ve just written until midnight and gotten enough. However, now that I’ve reached 50k, I know I’m more likely to tell myself I can just slack off. I do have a few days worth of buffer, but I’d like to save them for Thanksgiving or other busy days, not just lazy days. Wish me luck!

The Story: Lex found what he was looking for in the dangerous area he and Leahna were searching. But then he spent most of my words today being stuck as to how to get inside. He had to ask for help and wait in agony for a response. Now he and Leahna have gotten inside and are just beginning to look around this hidden, abandoned home that Lex really hopes will hold some answers for him. And it just may…though maybe not to the questions he’s been asking.

 

Total word count: 51752

day 12

In honor of reaching 50k, I am going to share an excerpt from my story. It’s been touched up just a bit, but mostly just for sections that I marked for deletion. It was difficult to find a short section that didn’t seem super boring to me, or that wasn’t so over-complicated that I had to give lots of explanation or that would just never make sense. Just keep in mind that this is a world in which technology is banned, so things are more primitive. Also, I suppose it doesn’t matter right now, but “Bill” is a placeholder name so I don’t have to take time to come up with a better one just yet. Anyway, here’s what I came up with:

 

“Years ago, a stranger showed up at my door, when I still lived with my mom. He handed me a package that he said was from my father, and then he just disappeared. This was inside the package.”

 “Can I see it?” Lex asked, worried that the man would say no.

 “That’s why you’re here,” Bill answered as he handed the box to Lex.

 Lex took the box gingerly and looked all over it. In the front was a clasp that wouldn’t open, no matter how hard he tried. Next to the lock was a series of six number dials. All of the dials were set at zero. Lex began to turn the dials and saw that they all went up to nine before going back to zero.

 “What is this?”

 “Some kind of lock, I guess. I’ve tried some random numbers, but could never get it open. How am I supposed to know what series of digits a man I have never met would use?”

 Lex stared at the lock, physically sitting on his hand so that he wouldn’t start a flame in Bill’s house. He was so used to doing that when he was thinking that he was worried he would just start one up without even thinking about it.

 “When is your birthday?” Lex asked Bill.

 “October twenty-first,” Bill answered.

 Lex dialed the first four dials of the lock to two, one, one, and zero. “And the year?”

 “Sixteen thirteen.”

 The last two dials went to one and three, and he immediately heard a click.

 “Did you get it open? The sequence was my birth date?” Bill asked in astonishment mixed with confusion.

 “It makes sense, doesn’t it? This man was your father, but he hadn’t seen you in twenty years. He would have to pick a number that you would be able to figure out, right? I figured if your birthday didn’t work, I’d try your mom’s. But he would then run the risk of something happening to your mom before you had this box in your hands. So your birthday was the logical choice.”

 “Wow, no, you’re right. I wish I’d thought of that years ago.”

Leave a Comment

