NaNoWriMo Day 15

The Words: 10,516 written today. This was the most epic day of writing I have ever had, and probably ever will have. After the last two days of lower numbers, after midnight last night, I was determined to do a lot more writing. Unfortunately, everyone from my regional Skype group had gone to bed already, so there would be no word wars to spur me on. Then I remembered a Twitter account that I had discovered during a Camp NaNo earlier this year, but didn’t have use for at the time (because I rebelled and revised both Camp sessions this year). It’s twitter.com/NaNoWordSprints, if anyone’s curious. There, from 1:00 until 3:15 am, someone was keeping word sprints going. The first one I joined was a 30 minute sprint, which I was 5 minutes late for. I did it anyway. After that, through 10, 15, 20, and 30 minute sprints for a total of 2 1/4 hours, I just kept writing, with only a few minutes down time in between (and one slightly longer break when I just needed one). I went to bed with 5k words written for the day.

Then today, my husband had some friends over for a game night. During that time, I had less of my normal distractions (chores to do, my computer to stare at aimlessly, etc) because, hey, we had company. Even though I didn’t play many of the games, I still sat at the table and watched, just to be involved. But I had my laptop in front of me, and continued to do word sprints/wars, either with people from my region, or with the aforementioned Twitter feed. And the numbers just kept stacking up. There were still distractions, as it wasn’t meant to be dedicated writing time, so I had to help with our daughter, or sometimes just stopped because fun things were going on. Or there’s the 20-minute sprint where I had to stop halfway through and go find food to put in my stomach because I was getting a migraine and suddenly felt woozy.

Around 11 pm tonight, I realized I was 300 words away from 10k, so one more word war on my region’s Skype chat pushed me over. And now I am on the final page of my outline, which means the story is almost done. It may just end before the month ends.

The Story: So much happened today, though I’m sure that’s not surprising for 10,000 words. Lex came completely clean to Leahna, who wasn’t thrilled about what he’s been up to. They worked with the authorities to try to capture Rusalki, the woman who had tried to kill them. She got away, and then proceeded to go after Lex and Leahna’s families. Now Lex and Leahna have found themselves a shared quest–to stop Rusalki. That won’t be easy, though, as they don’t actually know where to find her. They have a general region, but it will be a long, difficult search. And I have to figure out how to make sure that long, difficult search isn’t boring, without just saying, “They searched for so much time, and then found what they were looking for.” Unless I can make that work…

 

Total word count: 67,438

day 15

Leave a Comment

