The Sights and Sounds of NaNoWriMo

The countdown to NaNoWriMo is picking up speed. Okay, so that’s a physical impossibility, but with only 12 days left, it does feel like the time I have left to get ready is dwindling more than I’d like.

While NaNo is so often seen as scary, panic-inducing mania, it’s good to remember the fun of the event. Today, I thought I’d share some of my favorite things about NaNo that don’t specifically relate to the writing itself.

Errol
Fair warning: all of these involve the same over-excited, over-active Asian guy. It’s not that there aren’t other great NaNo-related songs or comics out there, but these are some of my favorites (for good reason).

NaNoToons: A webcomic about a group of characters who participate in NaNoWriMo. The comic runs daily throughout the month of November. Some years it starts partway through October so the story can ramp up before NaNo starts. I’ve seen no indication as to whether that will happen this year or not, but until it does start, you can catch up on the NaNoToons from previous years.

During November, you can check in every day to see the continuing adventures of the group as they eat their weight in chips, pass out early at the yearly overnight event, and write their way through November.

NaNo songs: There are a plethora of songs about NaNoWriMo on YouTube. One only need search for “nanowrimo songs” to find plenty of fun tunes. My favorites are in this playlist, or this site.

Songs about NaNo are great for hyping yourself up for the day’s writing or for playing over the next few weeks during your prep time.

NaNoMusical: Yes, it’s a musical about NaNoWriMo. And it’s one of my favorite things of all time. It’s a 6-part web series made by WE Tangent, with music by Debs & Errol. From the site itself: “NanoMusical follows Dale, a legend who has surpassed the 50,000 word count every year, and his three friends as they navigate their way through the exciting and often tumultuous month of November…with music.”

The musical came out in 2012, one episode per week from the days before NaNo started until the week after. I personally think that was the best way to watch it–spread throughout the event. However, as with binge watching on Netflix, it’s fully accessible now and can be watched all in a row. Still, if you watch the first episode and like it, you can use the following episodes as rewards for finishing certain milestones in your writing.

Do you have favorite NaNo-related songs or other fan creations like these? Are you already anxiously awaiting the start of this year’s NaNoToons? Is there a bit too much Errol in this post? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments.

14 thoughts on “The Sights and Sounds of NaNoWriMo

    • It’s funny really. When I decided to write this post and listed out what should go in it, it wasn’t until I started tracking down the links to share that it occurred to me that it was all Errol-related. I then wondered if it would come across weird, or like I was an obsessed stalker. But really, there’s nothing I can do about the fact that he’s involved in so much awesome stuff.

      Like

  1. No such thing as too much Errol. And I had asked him, he said he is doing NaNoToons this year. I’m going to have to check back on those songs later this evening when I have more time. Excited!

    Gah! NaNo is fast approaching! All the red flags are going up in my brain because so soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Came here from Errol’s comic, so I’m admittedly biased, but I feel like there is never too much Errol. I’m very excited for the return of NaNoToons (even though I know Errol only has ~3 done so far), and would LOVE a return of NaNo-related songs! NaNoWriMo always makes my creative juices flow, and helps me connect with other amazing bookish people (Kristi being one), making it my favorite part of every year (since I started participating in 2012). So ready for November!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is my favorite part of the year too. The closer it gets, the more anxious I am. I’m just itching to start writing the story I’m planning this year.

      It’s hard not to be biased about Errol. He just has that enthusiasm that draws people in!

      Like

    • I only know about any of this because 3 years ago, NaNoToons was linked on the main page of nanowriimo.org. I don’t know why it’s not anymore, but NaNoToons was my gateway to all of these things, and even more that aren’t specifically related to NaNo.

      Like

Leave a Comment

