NaNoWriMo Day 18

The Words: 3406 written today.Β  I’m very sleepy, but I pushed myself to get the words in, finishing only 10 minutes before midnight. There’s one thing in particular that I used to do almost every night time last year that I haven’t done at all yet this year. I would write at least 500-800 after midnight, so that when I go to the writing the next day, I’d have a dent in the word count already. It was a mental trick, because in the end, I was still the same amount in a 24-hour period, and in fact the same amount in an evening. But it helped. I might try that tonight.

I know why I haven’t been doing it though. It’s because I haven’t been feeling the same drive as last year. I’m still shaking off the near-burn-out from that 25KDayOne. I’m getting more into it again though. I guess I shouldn’t have tried to deviate from my beloved Pithea, with Missy, Drear, and all of the other characters that I’ve “known” for 10 years. Now that I’m back to writing about them, I’m feeling it again.

The Story: So far, I’m realizing that Jonathan isn’t really the main character of this story. At least, not the primary main character. Missy is. Missy was the main character of the first novel I ever finished. She’s the focal point of a lot of the stories I’ve written or have ideas for in the Pithea world. And though in this story, the conflict revolves around Jonathan, so far there has been a lot more Missy than Jonathan.

That being said, I think he’ll be very close behind her, once he gets a chance to get back into the story. I think it’s because she’s the leader of the team, and so far the story has mostly been about showing her and the rest of the team move out of the building they had occupied for at least 6 months, and gotten comfortable in.

But now Missy is trying to track Jonathan down to ask him about the paper she found on the floor of her apothecary lab while she was packing it up to move.

Total word count: 67,635

day 18

Don’t forget to check out today’s NaNoToons if you haven’t already: 2015 – November 18th (Hand-writing Wrimos unite!)

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 18

  1. I’m glad that you’re coming out of your near-burn-out. If nothing else, it is an impressive accomplishment that proves we are capable of anything if we apply ourselves πŸ™‚
    If I’m being honest with you, I’m starting to itch for my first story again too, and the characters I love within it. I want to return to them and sometimes I find my mind wandering. I love how you talk about Missy and Pithea like a friend you want to reconnect with and a home you want to return to πŸ™‚ I also love how Missy has thrust herself into the story — it proves that our characters can’t be contained in the pages of a single book!
    Best of luck today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think that’s one way I can tell after some time writing a new story (new as in new characters, stand-alone type thing, not just a new story in the same series) whether that story is really going to go anywhere. If I connect with the characters, I’ll do what I can to not only make that story work, but I will likely always think about what I can do to bring them back in other places. The characters from the world of Pithea have been with me for 10 years (if not always in the same world and format), so that might tell you something about how much I connect with them. And yeah, most of them are unable to be contained in a single book.

      How long ago did you write this first story you refer to?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I completely understand. The story I keep mentioning is one I started to write about nine years ago when I was still a young teenager and only playing with the idea of writing. It was the first story I’d ever finished (I had tried a few before with no luck). I love those characters so much, and they’re constantly on my mind. They even started to place themselves in my fanfictions πŸ˜‰ Keira — the protagonist of that series — is incredibly dear to me. She is everything I need her to be and she keeps popping up in my head as I’m writing this NaNoWriMo story, begging me to return to her. Peggie keeps pushing back. I think, in another life, they might have been sisters πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • I suppose that these stories being the first we’ve ever finished might have a lot to do with why the characters mean so much to us too. I wrote when I was a teenager too, but I never ended up finishing anything. Lots of plans for full series that I really thought would be published when I was still a teen, but looking back now, I can see that a lot of it was just me writing wish fulfillment and working through other issues I had at the time.

          Maybe they want to be sisters in a story together someday!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Isn’t all our writing in some way, reflective of issues we’re facing. I find that even with this story, I sometimes create moments that help me work through my troubles. It’s cathartic, in the best way πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

        • I’m not sure all of my writing necessarily reflects issues I’m going through. It certainly happens often, especially when I’m just free writing. If anything, my novel writing is cathartic because it gives me the chance to step outside of my normal life and troubles.

          Though I can’t promise that it doesn’t sneak in there and I’m just aware enough of my own psychological issues to realize that’s what it is.

          Liked by 1 person

    • The crunch can be good though, motivating. At least there’s time to catch up. A couple of solid days would knock out that deficit. Or spreading out the extra over time, though I’m sure you know all this! I have faith in you!

      Like

      • I really need to kick it into gear with some word wars. It’s been an odd NaNo for me because usually I’m in the deviantArt chatroom whenever I’m not elsewhere and because of no internet I haven’t been. Internet is at house, so I’m hoping I can have wars again and kick out some serious noveling. That, and Sunday being a free day for me will be good and hopefully a noveling all day day.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

