Daily Writing Check-in: December 2, 2015

Words/Time: 35 minutes revising “Pithea.” One character isn’t from Pithea, and he’s meant to have a slight accent. While that’s difficult to write in text, especially when the accent is vague, my sisters and I decided that we should at least make sure he chooses words differently than what seems normal for the rest of the characters. (It’s also not meant to be a particularly strong accent.) Every time he appeared in part 4, we neglected to go over his dialog in this way, so I was going through and finding some possible changes to make.

I’m putting off what I really need to do, which is to write an emotional letter that will probably be the very end of the book. I need to have it ready for Saturday, when we’re going to go over some final notes and fixes for the story. Maybe I’ll write it tomorrow… it won’t even be very long, it’s just…emotional.

4 thoughts on “Daily Writing Check-in: December 2, 2015

  1. It’s always tricky to write something emotional. Especially when you know it’s the last piece in your work. I can’t imagine working on the last draft of my first book and finally relenting. It will be the most bittersweet moment, at once exciting for the publishing possibilities, but nostalgia will keep be melancholic over the ending of something that I’ve dedicated a good part of my life to.
    Good luck with it 🙂
    Also, on the note of accents, I have the same problem where one of my characters has a thicker brogue than the rest. I tried writing it phonetically but that ended up being a mess 😛 Choice of words is probably the smartest move 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I meant to mention this in the post, but forgot. The character in question, with the accent, is actually Jonathan–the main (or at least one of the main) characters of the novel I wrote for this year’s NaNo (the second of the two novels). That whole issue didn’t cross my mind once during November. That story takes place several years after “Pithea,” though, so maybe I can get away with saying he’s picked up the local dialect by then.

      I’m mostly just dreading the idea of writing a query letter or whatever other things are required to send a manuscript to publishers. I’ve looked into it enough to be certain I’m going to stink at it. I’ll probably start looking more in depth at those things later this month, because the manuscript will *hopefully* be ready to do more with by the end of January.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

