Daily Writing Check-in: December 10, 2015

Words/Time: 1 hour transferring “Pithea,” one scene at a time, into Scrivener. I’m not sure why it took me an hour to only get 2/3 of it done, but it did. I guess there’s more to it than that, as I did a few other things at the same time, like figure out how many words part 1 is, and how many chapters it would be if I averaged 5000 words per chapter.

Either later tonight or tomorrow night, I will finish this and divide the chapters. Then I’ll bug a few people to read it while I also start into reading it again.

Or maybe I’ll go give “The Triangle” another read-through. That’s one I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned on this blog. It’s a novelette-length story, which I hope to self-publish soon. More on that later, maybe.

5 thoughts on “Daily Writing Check-in: December 10, 2015

    • I haven’t written in chapters since I wrote fanfiction and posted online as I went. I have no idea how long a scene will be or where a good chapter break might go while I’m writing. I’m amazed that so many people do actually work that way, because it seems beyond me now.

      Liked by 1 person

        • Personally, I dislike editing. I know it’s necessary, and it’s the only thing that makes the fast first draft possible. But I’ve never liked it. I’ve come to tolerate it better, but only because I have to.

          I actually inserted chapter breaks into “Pithea” while writing, not along the way, but when the first draft was partially written, I went back and put some in. But they were after nearly every scene, maybe 1500-2000 words each chapter. At about the halfway mark I already had so many chapters, I knew it wasn’t working. So I left it all for later.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Editing is arduous and I always feel like I’m stuck in it because I get so wrapped up in finding perfection. I’ve learnt to let that go. That’s why I’m excited for my next edit. I know it will be my last 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

