Daily Writing Check-in: January 9, 2016

Words/Time:  Untold amounts of time researching how to go about writing a query letter and cover letter (and what the difference between them is). And even more time later setting up “The Triangle” as an ebook. I’m waiting for the proof copy to arrive to proceed with the physical book publishing. The ebook will be released in advance of the physical book, and I’ll post more on that tomorrow.

Truth be told, I’ve been putting off this business of writing the query/cover letter(s) to submit to more than the two places I’ve done so far (neither of which required either of those). I’ve found such differing ideas of what to put into both of those letters that I’m worried when I actually sit down to do it, I’ll just freeze up, or end up with a jumbled mess. So it’s easier to just not do it yet. But I’m also waiting until I have more time, and the last few days, I’ve felt more compressed in my writing time.

Now that I’m in a waiting process for the publishing of “The Triangle,” which is what I’ve busied myself with while avoiding the further publishing pursuits of “Pithea,” it’s time to really focus on what I’ve been putting off. I just need to remember to approach it like I’ve approached every part of this process, from world building, to drafting, to revising, even to writing the synopsis only a few days ago–focus on one small step at a time, rather than the whole picture (which, let’s face it, is daunting).

3 thoughts on “Daily Writing Check-in: January 9, 2016

  1. I love your approach of one step at the time. It’s the only way to get by! Life is the same way. Thanks for sharing your process here. I love hearing about your journey through writing and editing and publishing. All the luck with those query letters / cover letters. Can’t wait for the next post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure it was a policy I actively pursued until recently. However, looking back at the entire process of creating Pithea and the world around it, planning and outlining the novel, writing it, and then revising it, it’s clear to me that the only way I made it through without giving up was by only concentrating on the task in front of me and just forgetting about what else there was for the time being. Anything else is inviting worry, fear, even depression. While I do give into that sometimes, refocusing on the next step is just about the only way back out.

      I really appreciate your encouragement, more than you know!

      Liked by 1 person

      • And I appreciate all your encouragement in turn!! I’ve been blessed to have met so many people by starting this blog! I love sharing stories and hearing about people’s experiences. There are so many people who would seek to put us down. We have to spread support where we can 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

