Daily Writing Check-in: January 20, 2016

Words/Time:ย  282 words of writing practice. Also 1.5 hours working on the rest of the timeline for “Pursuit of Power.” There are a lot of places in the story where I wrote vague amounts of time. Something lasted for “several months” or happened “after a few weeks.” Of course it’s much easier to do this while writing than to bother to come up with a specific amount of time. Creating a timeline off that is a little annoying though. I muddled through, and some entries can always be shortened or extended later as I fit other stories during or after this one. I use Aeon Timeline for my timelines, and it’s the most helpful writing software I’ve ever used.

I think my next step will be to plan out a sketchy idea of the events that will take place for Alexander, the main character in this story, after this book ends. From what I can tell from my timeline, the next story involving Alexander has to take place 4 years after this one ends. I think I can make that work

4 thoughts on “Daily Writing Check-in: January 20, 2016

  1. It’s great that you have a clear idea of where you’re going with the next novel. I have a bad tendency of doing the same thing in my sequels, knowing that time’s passing, but never stopping to actually figure it out. I’ve created a whole new calendar for the fantasy realm where my story takes place & I sometimes forget to keep myself organized that way. I’m taking care of that as I’m going through my edits now.
    Aeon Timeline keeps sounding better and better. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve had to train myself in the past to realize that if the first draft says “a few months later,” it doesn’t have to mean exactly 60 days. In fact, it makes more sense if it’s like 55 or 68 days, something less exact. But my problem with this story is that I have to try to figure out in my head how long something might take. Like, how long is too long for two people to wander in the desert looking for a hidden town before they just give up and say it’s a lost cause? Obviously there are factors that would influence that time, like how important is what they’re hoping to find in that town? But I worry that I’ll make things like that too long or too short to be believable. And then of course I let that worry lead to other insecurities before I finally either come up with a solid idea or just give up on caring and move on.

      For now, I’m doing the latter, moving on and leaving the timeline in a “tentative” state, because it’ll be easy to change later if I need to (because Aeon is so awesome!). ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

