Daily Writing Check-in: January 27, 2016

Words/Time:Β  1 hour, 15 minutes listing out the rest of the scenes in “Pursuit of Power” in Scrivener. While doing that, I realized my timeline wasn’t entirely accurate in some areas. I hadn’t referenced the timeline while writing, apparently, and I’d made the first part of the timeline many months before writing the first draft. I had to make some decisions about whether to change the dates in the timeline or to change it in the story. I could have saved that work for when I start reading soon, but it was bothering me.

Scrivener scenes PoP

This is my novel in a very boiled down, zoomed out, and color-coded sense. The different colors are different plot lines. The red is the main plot. The purple is the one I need to work on most. It may seem unimportant and worth deleting entirely, but it’s the personal life of the secondary main character. I always found it difficult to remember to include what was going on in her life throughout the story, and when I did, it seemed like a waste of time. So I need to spend some time figuring out what about her life is important enough to include, and the best way to slip that in here and there.

3 thoughts on “Daily Writing Check-in: January 27, 2016

  1. That’s such a helpful way of keeping track of what’s going on with Scrivener. I love how you color coded your plots.

    I always hate when I find those threads that I left hanging or didn’t deal with enough. I’ve uncovered a few as I’m going through my current edit and I’ve had to make similar decisions of cutting them out completely. Oh well! Hope you find inspiration with your character’s story πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • My decision about that one short plot line comes down to having to decide to either flesh out her personal life a bit more, or downgrade her to a lesser character. I know I want it to be the former. I can’t expect the reader to care about something that happens to her later in the story if I haven’t made them care about her at all, so I’ll have to try harder to make it work.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I hope it all comes together for you πŸ™‚ I had a similar issue on one of my previous drafts where a minor character only grew at the end, after being absent for most of the first part. I’ve since amended that and the character and story are so much better of for it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

