NaNoWriMo Day 6

The Words: 2323 written today.

I knew I couldn’t sustain the higher word counts I’d been getting this month for long, but that’s okay. Even the year that I challenged myself to write 100k in a month didn’t yield this high of results this early. I don’t want to burn out, so this amount of words today is just right.

I had a rough day of work today. Worse than what I thought was rough 3 days ago. To sum it up, I went into work to drop something off, and was there for an hour discovering a plethora of mistakes employees had been making recently (no one was there when I went in, and most of this had happened Saturday). It was a barrage of bad, and when I got home, almost 2 hours later than I expected to, I still had to do some clean up for a while.

I finally got to my writing around 10:30pm. One 10-minute sprint was interrupted by my husband, for I-can’t-even-remember-what reason. The next 15-minute sprint was interrupted by him again, when he came to tell me that the oven was officially broken and we are going to have to get a new one tomorrow. At that point, I had about 1000 words, and just wanted to hit par for the day, so I didn’t use up any of my lead. I tried a #1k30min with the Twitter word sprints feed, and got interrupted by my son who was just trying to say good night. Poor kid. I gave up a few minutes from the end of the 30-minute sprint, but I’d reached the goal, so I didn’t care.

The Story: More talk. The only plot advancement was that Penny went to go find out if she’d received a response from Rogan’s brother yet. He’s been out of the country for a few months on an extended vacation, but with his brother’s sudden reappearance, Penny wrote him and asked him to come back to Pithea sooner than he’d planned. There’s been no word so far.

The main story this time is Penny telling Rogan and Ari about a bit of a murder-mystery that happened a few weeks prior. It’s actually the book I wrote for my 2015 NaNoNovel. I didn’t finish that story, though, and in the end hashed out a lot of what needed to happen, but never got back to it to finish the mystery. So on a day like today, trying to write about what happened in a mystery story that is still a work in progress…it sort of just fell apart. That’s when I gave up. When I come back tomorrow, I will probably be wise to just put a cap on that conversation and move on to some action.

Total word count: 28,492

Don’t forget to check out today’s NaNoToons if you haven’t already: 2017 – November 6th

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.